Harper’s Harpings: Creating A Newsletter

Increasingly, I am seeing advice for Indie Authors to create a mailing list. I know this works because I am on three author’s mailing lists and if they didn’t send me an email that their new book is being released then I wouldn’t see it.

The thing is how do you get people to sign up?

Some authors promise a free eBook, some offer to win a $500 gift card, some offer exclusive updates. Some just want you to subscribe to a newsletter to get the latest information, on the basis that you asked for the information. There are authors that club together and use the same list for all their news.

I started my first newsletter October last year, and haven’t mailed out another one since. That is remiss of me, I should have kept sending them out, regardless if I only have ten subscribers. I plugged the newsletter on every social media site over a few months and I didn’t get much take up.

What do readers want on their newsletter? No clue, I just know what I want to see in a newsletter as a fan girl of my favourite authors. I want to know when they are releasing a new book, plain and simple. Social media can be a busy place and stalking all my favourite authors take a lot of time, having an email drop into my inbox to take all of that away is perfect.

If you’d like to sign up to my newsletter and get book release, cover reveals and much more first please click here: http://eepurl.com/5-eXX

What are you thoughts and advice?

Thanks for reading

Grace

X

 

Leave a Reply

